Pumpkin_Pie_from_a__real__pumpkin,_November_2007

If you read my last post, you know I’m not exactly an ardent supporter of the PSL (Pumpkin Spice Latte).  I also think that it’s become so trendy to make a pumpkin-flavored version of everything that some foods and drinks have been pumpkin-ized when perhaps they should not have been.  For example, Jello brand pudding now makes a seasonal pumpkin-flavored pudding mix that they sell during the fall. I tried it a few weeks ago and was not a huge fan.  I think the flavor of pumpkin just didn’t translate well into pudding form. Or maybe it was just this particular brand of pumpkin pudding that didn’t pan out fantastically.

imagesDHRXF899However, I do have an affinity for some pumpkin-based and pumpkin-flavored foods. After years of rejecting pumpkin pie (I have a history of being discriminatory towards pie; I think the mushy and gooey textures of the inside of pies have been a turnoff for me), I finally gave it another try two years and quickly fell in love. Maybe my taste buds changed and I have evolved into a more supreme being who appreciates I wider variety of flavors.  Regardless, I now LOVE pumpkin pie, especially with whipped cream.  I also love pumpkin pancakes.  Last fall my friend and I bought a pumpkin from a farmer’s market that he used to make pumpkin pancakes and they were a total success. The pumpkin flavor was just prominent enough to be the dominant flavor without being too overpowering. And it probably helped that he managed to make the pancakes perfectly fluffy.

Here’s a recipe for pumpkin pancakes that I found on Martha Stewart’s website:

http://www.marthastewart.com/271839/pumpkin-pancakes

It seems pretty easy to follow and it’s perfect if you want the pumpkin taste without having to go to great lengths –  the recipe uses pumpkin puree, so there’s no need to buy your own pumpkin and use it to make the pancakes. I’ve never tried pumpkin pancakes made from puree though, so I’m not sure how that affects the taste and texture compared to pancakes made from using an actual pumpkin.  I’m also a terrible cook and extremely lazy when it comes to cooking my own food, so even though I like pumpkin pancakes, the chances of me actually making this are somewhat slim.

I’m interested in exploring new pumpkin-flavored foods this fall.  If you’ve tried any pumpkin-flavored foods or drinks that you really like, let me know in the comments? Also, has anyone had pumpkin beer before. I never have and am questioning whether it’s worth giving a shot.

Until next time!

